MTGGoldfish is supported by its audience. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission.
Browse > Home / Strategy / Articles / Possibility Storm #5: Ixalan

Possibility Storm #5: Ixalan


Hello, Magic puzzlers! Today's puzzle is the first to make it's way onto MTGGoldfish but comes from a long line of mythic puzzles. The difference between a mythic and rare puzzle often has to do with rules and timing. While the full rules breakdown is available here, we wanted to cover the biggest questions that come up from puzzlers.

This one was a real doozy. We have two replacement effects that interact with each other: Angrath's Marauders doubles damage from a source, and Protection of the Hekma reduces it by one. The order these effects are applied in matters ((2  1) x 2 = 2, but 2 x 2  1 = 3). So, which one is it? In this case, someone has to decide, and unlike triggers and many other decisions in Magic, which go by "APNAP" (active player, then non-active player) order, it is the affected player who chooses how to order replacement effects like these. So, if I'm the opponent, I'm saying shrink first, double later. For more information, check comprehensive rules 615.1 and 615.10, and 616.1 and 616.1e.

These puzzles are free to play, but if you like to challenge yourself or others, then you can get early access over on the Possibility Storm Patreon. Each puzzle has a unique solution, but if you find a better one that our crack staff of puzzle analysts missed, you can reach us on our Facebook or on Twitter @mtgpuzzles. Good luck!

Click here to expand image



More on MTGGoldfish ...

Image for Possibility Storm #4: Ixalan video
Possibility Storm #4: Ixalan

Can you find the right line to win this turn?

Oct 18 | by SaffronOlive
Image for Marvel's Spider-Man Spoilers — August 29 | Debut Stream, Heroes and Villains! daily spoilers
Marvel's Spider-Man Spoilers — August 29 | Debut Stream, Heroes and Villains!

The official Debut for Spider-Man spoiler season!

Aug 29 | by mtggoldfish
Image for Much Abrew: Death and Taxes in Standard much abrew about nothing
Much Abrew: Death and Taxes in Standard

I built a deck specifically to beat Izzet Cauldron by taxing and staxing it out of the game! Can it work? Let's find out!

Aug 29 | by SaffronOlive
Image for Seth Bought a Deck for Money, but Instead Got Memories | Commander Clash S18 E26 commander clash
Seth Bought a Deck for Money, but Instead Got Memories | Commander Clash S18 E26

What does the crew bring to battle when there are no deck building restrictions? Let's find out!

Aug 29 | by SaffronOlive

Layout Footer

Never miss important MTG news again!

All emails include an unsubscribe link. You may opt-out at any time. See our privacy policy.

Follow Us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Twitch
  • Instagram
  • Tumblr
  • RSS
  • Email
  • Discord
  • YouTube

Price Preference

Default Price Switcher